the public domain

Louder Than Words

Be part of something big this spring, as 500 people from all walks of life come together for a once-in a lifetime performance at the Barbican Centre.

Whether you’re a first-time singer or regular choir member, the London Symphony Orchestra and Choral Director Simon Halsey are inviting you to join over 500 people from across London to perform the UK premiere of David Lang’s the public domain. As a vocalist you’ll sing, whisper and chant together under the guidance of a dedicated vocal leader, telling a story through sound and movement and drawing together shared experiences into an exhilarating and exciting performance.

The three groups will then come together for two final rehearsals, before the piece is performed live in the Barbican foyers on 24 March 2019 as part of a London Symphony Orchestra performance.

If you would like to take part, please check your availability against the rehearsal dates below, then enter your information into one of our forms by 1 January 2019:

Taking part is completely free. Under-18s must be accompanied by an adult. If your child is under-18 but 16+, please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Rehearsal dates and locations

GROUP 1 - LSO ST LUKE'S                         

 

Rehearsals 
Monday 21 January 2019: 18.30-20.30 
Monday 28 January 2019: 18.30-20.30 
Monday 4 February 2019: 18.30-20.30  
Monday 11 February 2019: 18.30-20.30 
Monday 25 February 2019: 18.30-20.30 
Monday 4 March 2019: 18.30-20.30 
Monday 11 March 2019: 18.30-20.30

Production week
Monday 18 March 2019: 18.30-20.30

Saturday 23 March 2019: evening rehearsal 18.00-21.00
Sunday 24 March 2019: 13.00-19.00
Performance begins at 18.00

 

GROUP 2 - CITY OF LONDON SCHOOL
FOR GIRLS         
       

Rehearsals

Wednesday 23 January 2019: 18.30-20.30
Wednesday 30 January 2019: 18.30-20.30
Wednesday 6 February 2019: 18.30-20.30
Wednesday 13 February 2019: 18.30-20.30
Wednesday 27 February 2019: 18.30-20.30
Wednesday 6 March 2019: 18.30-20.30
Wednesday 13 March 2019: 18.30-20.30

Production Week
Monday 18 March 2019: 18.30-20.30 or Thursday 21 March 2019: 18.30-21.00   
Saturday 23 March 2019: evening rehearsal 18.00-21.00 TBC
Sunday 24 March 2019: 13.00-19.00
Performance begins at 18.00

 

GROUP 3 - CITY OF LONDON SCHOOL
FOR GIRLS
  

Rehearsals
Tuesday 5 March 2019: 18.30-21.00
Thursday 7 March 2019: 18.30-21.00
Tuesday 12 March 2019: 18.30-21.00
Thursday 14 March 2019: 18.30-21.00
Tuesday 19 March 2019: 18.30-21.00

Production Week
Thursday 21 March 2019: 18.30-21.00
Saturday 23 March 2019: evening rehearsal 18.00-21.00 TBC
Sunday 24 March 2019: 13.00-19.00
Performance begins at 18.00


lso discovery.jpg         culture mile.jpg

The UK premiere of the public domain is supported by the Garfield Weston Foundation, John S Cohen Foundation, 29th May 1961 Charity, Aaron Copland Fund for Music, D'Oyly Carte Charitable Trust and LSO Friends.

Choir side image2 25x464