Skip to main content
What’s On
The members of Sonoro Quartet stand in front of a brick wall with violins, a viola and a cello.

ECHO Rising Stars

Sonoro Quartet

LSO St Luke's Guest Artist

Thursday 8 February 2024 • 6.30pm

This event has passed.

Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke’s

The Concert

Seán Doherty The Devil’s Dream
Guillaume Lekeu Molto adagio sempre cantante doloroso
Annelies van Parys New work (commissioned by ECHO)
Dmitri Shostakovich String Quartet No 8

Sonoro Quartet


£12, £5 Young Barbican Members
+ £1.50 booking fee per online/phone transaction

Please visit the Barbican website for more information and to book

The Sonoro Quartet, ECHO Rising Stars for 2023/24, play a programme of new works alongside music by Guillaume Lekeu and Dmitri Shostakovich’s searing String Quartet No 8.

The Devil’s Dream, a haunting piece by contemporary Irish composer Seán Doherty, draws us into this unique programme. The Sonoro Quartet’s native Belgium is represented by a new commission from Annelies van Parys, one of Belgium’s leading composers, and by a passionate outpouring from the short-lived but brilliant Guillaume Lekeu. The concert culminates in Dmitri Shostakovich’s String Quartet No 8 – written in just three days in the bombed ruins of Dresden, and dedicated to all victims of war.

The Sonoro Quartet has swiftly established itself as one of today’s most sought-after young string quartets. Alongside the great quartet repertoire, the group champions new works by exciting composers such as Seán Doherty – whose music is described by The Irish Times as ‘unfailingly gripping’.


Produced by the Barbican


Your Visit and Access