Skip to main content
What’s On
Pianist Kirill Gerstein

Listening to America

Stream on Marquee.TV and BBC Sounds

The Concert

George Gershwin arr Don Rose Overture: Let ‘em Eat Cake
George Gershwin ed Timothy Freeze Piano Concerto in F
Roy Harris Symphony No 3
John Adams Frenzy (world premiere)
George Gershwin arr Don Rose Overture: Strike Up the Band

Sir Simon Rattle  conductor
Kirill Gerstein  piano
London Symphony Orchestra


Available to watch on Marquee TV (subscription required)

Broadcast on BBC Radio 3 and available on BBC Sounds

A new work by John Adams is flanked by Gershwin’s most seductive tunes.

The Programme

John Adams always has something interesting to say about the world we live in. Any new work he produces soon shows up in concert halls across the globe – so hear Frenzy here first.

Roy Harris’ Third Symphony is a miniature epic, offering up a tragic glimpse of dust bowl-era America. George Gershwin paints a more ebullient picture of life across the Pond, transporting us to the roaring twenties in his razzle-dazzle Piano Concerto, complete with Charleston rhythms. Keep an ear out for some of his biggest melodies in two delicious musical theatre overtures.

The Performers

Sir Simon Rattle, Conductor Emeritus of the LSO, has a long history with John Adams, audible in every confident note of the LSO’s performance. Kirill Gerstein has made reference-point live recordings of George Gershwin’s music. Seize your chance to hear him tackle its addictive blend of classical and jazz, as part of his Spotlight Artist series with the LSO.

‘I wanted to make music that had all of the elements of my life as an American’ – John Adams

Marquee TV Logo


BBC Radio 3 Logo