Skip to main content
What’s On

Two Panufnik Composers Awarded Commissions

Two early-career composers commissioned through the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme to write for the LSO in 2025/26.


4-minute read

We are excited to announce the two composers who have been awarded commissions through the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme. Omri Kochavi and Sasha Scott will compose a new five- and ten-minute piece respectively for the full London Symphony Orchestra. The pieces will be workshopped through the Scheme with the LSO before being premiered in concert at the Barbican in the 2025/26 Season.

For Omri and Sasha this commission comes following their participation on the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme 2023/24, a supported opportunity for six composers to write for a full symphony orchestra. Each year participants receive guidance from Colin Matthews and Christian Mason, to write a three-minute piece over twelve months. Omri and Sasha were selected to further develop their pieces, or compose something new, and will continue to be supported through the Scheme in the coming year, while composing their new works.

Omri Kochavi

Omri Kochavi

‘I’m feeling really lucky and grateful to have a chance to develop the relationship with the LSO, and continue working with the Orchestra’s ever-generous musicians and staff. I’m really excited to pick up where we left off with the workshop piece and see how it can grow.’

Omri Kochavi  is a composer and guitarist based in London. His music draws its language from a broad range of influences, focusing on the reality of sounds, people, plants, and the interactions between them. Recent highlights include a 2023 Ivors Classical Award nomination in the Best Choral Music category for Kishtatos (written for the BBC Singers), an orchestral commission from the Orchestra of Opera North, and a new string quartet for the Aestus Quartet commissioned by Britten-Pears Arts.

Omri graduated with a Masters degree in Composition in 2022 from the Guildhall School of Music & Drama, where he was studying with Julian Anderson and Laurence Crane.

Sasha Scott

‘It feels incredibly surreal to have been awarded this commission. Having the opportunity to work with the LSO over the past year has been life-changing, and I’m so excited and grateful to continue to work with and learn from them in the coming season.’

Sasha Scott is a composer, producer, and violinist born and based in London, currently studying composition with Mark-Anthony Turnage at the Royal College of Music. In 2019, she was the senior winner of ‘BBC Young Composer of the Year’, and since then has written works for the Aurora Orchestra, Sean Shibe, Beijing Music Festival, BBC Symphony Orchestra, and Her Ensemble.

Her works have been broadcast on BBC Radio 3, BBC Radio 6, NTS Radio. Sasha was previously a composer on the ‘Britten Pears Young Artist programme 2022- 23’, and was also on the ‘LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme 2023-2024’.

The LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme was devised by the Orchestra in association with Lady Panufnik, in memory of her late husband, the composer Sir Andrzej Panufnik, and generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust.

The Helen Hamlyn Trust Logo

You Might Like