Skip to main content
What’s On
Violinist Janine Jansen

Springtime Romance – Boulanger, Barber, Rachmaninoff

Available from 18 April

The Concert

Lili Boulanger D’un matin de printemps
Samuel Barber Violin Concerto
Interval – 20 minutes
Serge Rachmaninoff Symphony No 2

Sir Antonio Pappano  conductor
Janine Jansen  violin
London Symphony Orchestra


This concert is filmed for Mezzo and (subscription required).

It will be broadcasted on on 18 April at 8pm.

The sun comes out in Lili Boulanger’s lively tone poem, and lyrical feelings bloom in music by Samuel Barber and Serge Rachmaninoff.

The Programme

D’un matin de printemps is one of the few glimpses we have of Lili Boulanger’s compositional genius, a sparkling miniature that leaves a lasting impression of spring.

The emotional sincerity of Samuel Barber’s lyrical Violin Concerto cuts to the heart, its nervy third movement building up to a burst of feeling. And passion reigns in Rachmaninoff’s opulent Second Symphony. Its third movement contains some of the most beautiful music he ever wrote.

The Performers

‘I try to put my whole being into my music,’ says Janine Jansen, one of the world’s most expressive violinists. Here she evokes the raptures of Barber’s concerto with stirring support from Sir Antonio Pappano and the LSO.

There’s no reason music should be difficult for an audience to understand’ – Samuel Barber

Mezzo logo


Header Image © Mark Allan