Skip to main content
What’s On
Pianist Bertrand Chamayou

LSO Artist Portrait: Bertrand Chamayou

Watch on Marquee.TV

This event has passed.

The Concert

David Raksin The Bad and the Beautiful – Suite
Maurice Ravel
 Piano Concerto in G major
Interval – 20 minutes
Ralph Vaughan Williams Symphony No 5

Sir Antonio Pappano  conductor
Bertrand Chamayou  piano
London Symphony Orchestra


Available to watch on Marquee TV (for free until 11 May 7pm, then with a subscription)

A playful concerto offers a boost to your mood, and a symphony reaches for hope in the midst of war.

The Programme

Like a ringmaster, Ravel sets his Piano Concerto in G major in motion with a flick of the whip. Here come Basque folk melodies, Spanish panache and American jazz. The fascinating melody in the middle section was a painstaking high-wire act for the composer. Ravel wrote, ‘That flowing phrase! How I worked over it bar by bar! It nearly killed me!’

Vaughan Williams was once taught by Ravel. His sophisticated, original Fifth Symphony deeply moved audiences who heard it at its premiere during World War II. Its bittersweet melodies and transcendent climax seem to offer listeners a vision of future peace.

The Performers

Like Ravel, Bertrand Chamayou once studied at the Paris Conservatoire. His fresh, assertive interpretation of the Piano Concerto – part of a wider LSO Artist Portrait series – makes it sound newly written.

Sir Antonio Pappano and the LSO follow up their stunning pre-pandemic performances of Vaughan Williams’ Fourth and Sixth Symphonies with this magnificent take on his popular Fifth.

The only love affair I ever had was with music.’ – Ravel

Header Image © Marco Borggreve