Friday Lunchtime Concerts

Free concerts at LSO St Luke's

Want to know more about classical music but not sure where to start?

Make the most of your lunchbreak and enjoy a free, 45-minute informal concert at LSO St Luke’s. With live performances and introductions from presenter Rachel Leach, these free concerts are the perfect opportunity to learn more about music and the instruments of the orchestra, so just turn up and enjoy!

This autumn, we’re exploring music performed by duos; two musical voices weaving and merging through contemporary and classical compositions. Featuring strings, percussion, brass and keys, this is a series of electrifying performances from musicians pushed to new heights by the energy of their partners.

Each concert begins at 12.30pm and lasts for 45 minutes. The Café is open for light refreshments before the concert from 11.30am and after the concert until 2pm. The concerts are suitable for those over the age of 5.

Booking

There's no need to book, the concerts are free and you can just turn up on the day. To avoid disappointment please arrive in good time to get a seat, as these concerts are popular!

For more information or for group bookings please contact Helen Innes:

Tel +44 20 7382 2512
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Forthcoming concerts

All concerts start at 12.30pm*

2017/18 season

> Mon 18 Sep 2017
Expect fireworks from a pair of violins as LSO Member Rhys Watkins and violinist Jack Liebeck perform in the inaugural lunchtime concert of the season, with a very special guest appearance from Sir Simon Rattle as part of LSO This is Rattle celebrations.

> Fri 29 Sep 2017
Enjoy a selection of Brahms sonatas, performed by LSO violinist Tom Norris and pianist Anna Tilbrook.

> Fri 20 Oct 2017
The trombone and percussion instruments are the focus in this concert, showcasing new works written for and performed by LSO Principal Percussion Neil Percy.

> Fri 17 Nov 2017
Talented Guildhall School musicians take to the stage to close our Virtuoso Duos series.

> Fri 12 Jan 2018
> Fri 26 Jan 2018
> Fri 2 Mar 2018
> Fri 23 Mar 2018
> Fri 27 Apr 2018
> Fri 11 May 2018
> Fri 1 Jun 2018
> Fri 29 Jun 2018


Supported by the Andor Charitable Trust and LSO Friends

*On Friday 29 September there will be a repeated relaxed performance starting at 2pm

 

Rachel Leach presenting a Friday lunchtime concert