Prokofiev Fifth Symphony



Thu 12 Nov 2020 7.30pm - 9.35pm
Barbican Hall, London

Shostakovich The Age of Gold – Suite
Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No 1
Prokofiev Symphony No 5

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Seong-Jin Cho piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Check for Wildcards

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.

On sale dates:
LSO Friends and Patrons
From Monday 2 March 2020

Online: Monday 16 March 2020 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am
In Person: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am

LSO Friends and Patrons get Priority booking. Join as a Friend today.

Part of the 2020/21 Season 

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Recommended by Classic FM

Classic FM logo

Gianandrea Noseda conducts Prokofiev’s ‘symphony of the greatness of the human spirit’, and the extraordinary Seong-Jin Cho is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s hugely popular First Piano Concerto.

The horns throw down the challenge, the piano strides forward, and Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto is under way. Pianist Seong-Jin Cho caused a sensation when he played with the LSO in 2019, and Gianandrea Noseda follows him the only way possible: with a truly epic Russian symphony.

In fact, it’s said that at the Moscow premiere in 1945, Prokofiev couldn’t begin his Fifth Symphony until an artillery barrage had fallen silent. It’s a symphony of iron and steel, and LSO Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda is passionate about it. What better way to match Seong-Jin Cho’s mixture of poetry and pyrotechnics in Tchaikovsky’s battle royale of a concerto? And what more fitting contrast to the knockabout musical humour of Shostakovich’s irreverent Age of Gold?