Event cancelled: Mahler's Fourth Symphony


Rattle: Roots & Origins

Sun 26 Apr 2020 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

Villa-Lobos Bachianas Brasileiras No 5
Ligeti Violin Concerto
Mahler Symphony No 4

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin
Camilla Tilling soprano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Book Wildcard tickets
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

In light of recommendations announced by the government on Monday 16 March, all LSO performances at the Barbican, and public performances and workshops at LSO St Luke’s, have been cancelled or postponed until further notice.

We appreciate your support during this time, and ask that you bear with us and the Box Office as ticket-holders are notified. Please keep checking this page on the Barbican’s website for the latest information on refunds for cancelled events (including events at LSO St Luke’s). A large number of events at the Barbican and LSO St Luke’s are being cancelled and postponed, so we ask that you are patient and avoid contacting the Box Office at this stage.

We are saddened to have to cancel performances, but the health and wellbeing of our audience-members, musicians and staff is of the utmost importance. We know that music can bring comfort, hope and community in difficult times, and our mission remains to ensure that this is available to everyone, everywhere. In the coming weeks we will be using our online channels to share videos of performances, articles, interviews and playlists. We invite you to join us, and to connect with other music-lovers around the world, by following us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube, Apple Music and Spotify.


Discovery Day: Sounds from South America

Sunday 26 April 10am–5pm
Attend a morning LSO rehearsal conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, followed by a talk and chamber music at LSO St Luke's on the music of Villa-Lobos and Piazzolla

More info

Pre-concert Recital

5.30pm, Barbican LSO Platforms: Guildhall School artists perform a free recital

Ligeti Six Bagatelles for wind quintet
Villa-Lobos Quinteto Instrumental W 538

Klei Quintet:
Andrew Martin flute
Katherine Jones oboe
Julia Raga Pascual clarinet
Rachel Hurst bassoon
Karen Starkman Abramov horn
Lise Vandersmissen harp
Fiona Sweeney flute
Enyuan Khong violin
Nicholas Hughes viola
Sophie Klaus cello