Event postponed: Panufnik Composers Workshop


LSO Discovery

Thu 26 Mar 2020 10.00am - 6.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

Session times:

Morning session 10am–1.30pm

George Stevenson Vanishing City (5’ commission)
Louise Drewett The Daymark
Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade Sleep-Chasings
Jonathan Woolgar Proto-Symphony


Afternoon session 2.30–6pm

Caroline Bordignon Iridescent Flares III
Joe Bates Muted the Night
James Chan Tanztheater
Joel Jarventausta Sunfall (10’ commission) 

François-Xavier Roth conductor
London Symphony Orchestra


You may book for either or both of the sessions.

Tickets: Free entry, booking essential
Please call the Box Office to reserve a seat: +44 20 7638 8891

On sale dates:
By Phone: Tuesday 19 March 2019 10am
In Person: Tuesday 19 March 2019 10am

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

In light of recommendations announced by the government on Monday 16 March, this event has been postponed until further notice. We will be in touch with ticket holders as soon as we can with further details. 

A large number of events at the Barbican and LSO St Luke’s are being cancelled and postponed, so we ask that you are patient and avoid contacting the Box Office at this stage.

We are saddened to have to cancel or postpone performances, but the health and wellbeing of our audience-members, musicians and staff is of the utmost importance. We know that music can bring comfort, hope and community in difficult times, and our mission remains to ensure that this is available to everyone, everywhere. In the coming weeks we will be using our online channels to share videos of performances, articles, interviews and playlists. We invite you to join us, and to connect with other music-lovers around the world, by following us on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, YouTube, Apple Music and Spotify.


In this free public workshop, witness a pivotal point in the process of writing a new three minute orchestral piece. The LSO performs and discusses works by the latest cohort of Panufnik composers, under the guidance of composers Colin Matthews and Christian Mason, and conductor François-Xavier Roth.

The LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust

About LSO Panufnik

Guided by renowned composers Colin Matthews and Christian Mason, with additional tailored support, the scheme enables six composers to experiment with and develop their orchestral writing skills through creating a three-minute composition over twelve months.