Tchaikovsky Fifth Symphony


Noseda: Russian Roots

Sun 3 Nov 2019 7.00pm - 9.25pm
Barbican Hall, London
RIMSKY-KORSAKOV The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh – Suite
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No 3
Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Denis Matsuev piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

arrowDownload the programme (PDF)

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

History, heritage, fate, and a tour-de-force of piano skill and colour combine in this ‘Russian Roots’ concert from Gianandrea Noseda, bringing together Rimsky-Korsakov, Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky.

Rimsky-Korsakov dug deep into Russian legends and folk tales for his opera The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh. Follow the mythical, magical story of the ‘Russian Atlantis’ in this orchestral suite, told through the composer’s glittering orchestral palette.

Prokofiev’s trademarks as a composer for the piano fill the Third Piano Concerto – wit, lyricism, dramatic changes of mood, and spectacular piano fireworks. Russian pianist Denis Matsuev takes on the fierce technical demands of the solo part, which sweeps up and down the length of the keyboard and moves at breathtaking speed. Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony, brimming over with drama and emotional intensity, brings the concert to a close, charting a course from darkness to a final, life-affirming glimmer of optimism.