Shostakovich Sixth Symphony


Noseda: Russian Roots

Thu 31 Oct 2019 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

BRITTEN Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia from ‘Peter Grimes’
PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No 2

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Denis Matsuev piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

arrowDownload the programme (PDF)


Part of the 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Atmosphere and mood are conjured up in three darkly-hued works from the 20th century, from the stormy seas to the knife-edge uncertainty of life in Soviet Russia.

‘It’s fascinating to see how, through art, Shostakovich tried to be true to himself, while also trying to accomplish the dictates of the Soviets’, says Gianandrea Noseda, Principal Guest Conductor of the LSO. His focus in this concert is on the Sixth of the Russian composer’s 15 epic symphonies, which seems to speak of the turbulence of life in Stalinist Russia, as solemnity gives way to a jovial energy that somehow doesn’t ring true.

The Sixth is set alongside the brooding seascape and atmospheric storytelling of Benjamin Britten’s Four Sea Interludes, and the explosive Second Piano Concerto by Prokofiev, which sends the hands of the soloist – in this concert, Russian virtuoso Denis Matsuev – dancing furiously over the keys in the exhilarating, percussive finale.