Rachmaninov's Second Symphony


Sir Simon Rattle & Emanuel Ax

Wed 18 Sep 2019 7.30pm - 10.05pm
Barbican Hall, London

BRAHMS Piano Concerto No 2

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Emanuel Ax piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

On sale dates:
Online: Tuesday 5 March 2019 10am
By Phone: Tuesday 19 March 2019 10am
In Person: Tuesday 19 March 2019 10am

Part of 2019/20 season

arrowDownload the concert programme (PDF)

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Brahms and Rachmaninov, a programme that's lush and stormy in equal measure.

It’s not hard to see why the Romantics found the sort of civilised passion contained in this programme so irresistible. Distant horn calls open Brahms’ Piano Concerto No 2, evolving into music that’s yearning, heartfelt and grand. For the pianist, the finale is both challenging and playful, capping things off with light-hearted gypsy melodies.

One of Rachmaninov’s most popular pieces, his Symphony No 2 is an indulgently melancholic and sentimental work. Dramatic sections played by the full orchestra contrast heart-breaking swells that only this composer could have written.

Pre-concert performance

6.30pm Barbican Foyers
Signum Brass, a quintet of Guildhall School musicians perform free pre-concert fanfares