Artist Portrait: Daniil Trifonov


Shostakovich Concerto for Piano, Trumpet & Strings

Sun 16 Jun 2019 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

BEETHOVEN Overture: Egmont
SHOSTAKOVICH Concerto No 1 for piano, trumpet and strings
BERLIOZ Harold in Italy *

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Daniil Trifonov piano
Philip Cobb trumpet
Antoine Tamestit viola *
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £56 £41 £31 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys


 Part of 2018/19 Season


download genericDownload the concert programme (PDF)


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Burning passion and cool introspection meet head-on in this concert, bringing Daniil Trifonov’s Artist Portrait series to a close.

With his Concerto No 1, Shostakovich upends the traditions of the Concerto form, creating a piece that bites with wit and humour. Lurching from the pithy sarcasm of the solo trumpet to the opulence of a waltz-like theme, the piece charges through disparate moods with wicked abandon, building towards a manic, carnivalesque climax.

Beethoven’s Egmont Overture burns with the power and passion of its eponymous hero, telling the dramatic story of a freedom fighter who strives to liberate his people. The concert closes with Berlioz’s dreamlike Harold in Italy. Melancholy and pensive, the symphony brings the viola to the forefront to convey restlessness, wanderlust and the artist’s ceaseless search for inspiration.



Also in Daniil Triofonov's LSO Artist Portrait series:

Monday 10 June 2019
Solo piano recital
works by Beethoven, Schumann and Prokofiev

Sunday 16 June 2019
Shostakovich Concerto No 1 for Piano, Trumpet and Strings
with Gianandrea Noseda and Philip Cobb