John Adams at 70: Scheherazade.2


with Leila Josefowicz

Thu 8 Dec 2016 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

BARTÓK Hungarian Sketches
JOHN ADAMS Scheherazade.2

John Adams conductor
Leila Josefowicz violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £18 £24 £30 £42

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 6pm, free entry
Stravinsky and Bartók chamber music


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF) 


Part of the 2016/17 season

America’s foremost composer/conductor, John Adams presents the second UK performance of his dramatic symphony for violin and orchestra, Scheherazade.2, alongside scores by Stravinsky and Bartók.

Adams’ Scheherazade.2 takes the traditional tale of Scheherazade as its starting point re-imagining the title role – portrayed in the dazzling acrobatics of the solo violin - as an empowered, defiant character who is unafraid of conflict. The work is as much inspired by the breath-taking virtuosity and musicianship of its dedicatee, violinist Leila Josefowicz, as the traditional tale from which it borrows its name. She joins the LSO and Adams for this performance to take on the role of Scheherazade.

The concert opens with a pair of works composed by two of the twentieth century’s greatest musical innovators. Bartók’s Hungarian Sketches are a vividly imagined suite of miniatures for orchestra inspired by the authentic folk melodies of Hungary. Stravinsky’s neo-classical ballet Orpheus is a restrained re-telling of the ancient Greek tale.

Interview: John Adams & Leila Josefowicz

Podcast: John Adams at 70