LSO String Ensemble


BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert/Elgar Up Close

Thu 21 Apr 2016 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

ELGAR Introduction and Allegro
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis
BRITTEN Variations on a Theme of Frank Bridge

LSO String Ensemble
Roman Simovic director


Tickets: £12 (£10 concessions)

Multi-buy savings
Tickets are £9 per ticket when any 4 (or more) BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts are booked at the same time. NB all four concerts must be from the same season.

£0.60 online booking fee, £0.70 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the 2015/16 season

The LSO's virtuoso String Ensemble play three English masterpieces including Elgar's surging Introduction and Allegro.

Roman Simovic directs the LSO String Ensemble in this second programme of the BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert series featuring Elgar's music for strings. Elgar's Introduction and Allegro, composed in 1905, almost singlehandedly sparked off a revival of English string music that led to great works such as Vaughan Williams's Fantasia and Benjamin Britten's Variations.

Two concerts by the Elias Quartet complete the Elgar series over the next two Thursdays. They complement Elgar's Piano Quintet with three Stravinsky pieces composed in the same period, and Elgar's String Quartet with great English string music from the seventeenth century: Fantasias by Henry Purcell.