Nielsen Symphony No 4


With Daniil Trifonov

Thu 7 Apr 2016 7.30pm - 9.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

PROKOFIEV Piano Concerto No 2
NIELSEN Symphony No 4 ('The Inextinguishable')

Alan Gilbert conductor
Daniil Trifonov piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Supported by LSO Patrons

Alan Gilbert will be joined by the scintillating virtuoso pianist Daniil Trifonov for the second concert of a pair featuring Scandinavian and Russian composers.

The evening will begin with Sibelius’ En Saga, depicting fairy-tales in Finnish landscapes, before Trifonov, one of the brightest names of the younger generation of pianists, takes the platform for Prokoviev’s technically formidable Piano Concerto No 2. The concert ends with Nielsen’s dramatic fourth symphony, which features a ‘battle’ between two sets of timpani. Composed during World War I and subtitled ‘The Inextinguishable’, Nielsen wanted his music to represent ‘that which is inextinguishable’, or ‘the elemental will to live’.