Strauss Ein Heldenleben


Please note start time

Sun 24 Jan 2016 7.00pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

WEBERN Im Sommerwind
BERG Violin Concerto
STRAUSS Ein Heldenleben

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Renaud Capuçon violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 5.30pm, free entry

BERG Piano Sonata Op 1
BERG Four pieces for clarinet and piano
BERG Jugendliedern

Stephen Williams clarinet
Yundu Wang piano
Elisabeth Rauch soprano
Hélène Favre-Bulle piano


download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

François-Xavier Roth conducts the second of two concerts exploring the legacy of Romanticism through Webern, Berg and Strauss.

An early piece from Webern opens this concert: Im Sommerwind, a student work that demonstrates the young composer’s devotion to all that is lush and Romantic wrapped around an ode to nature from Bruno Wille. A fitting opener to prepare the way for Ein Heldenleben, Strauss’s musical epic that tells a hero’s life in six episodes of gigantic orchestral writing, with all the peaks and troughs of his triumphs and defeats given the musical drama that only this great orchestrator can conjure. These two works sit either side of Berg’s Violin Concerto, a virtuosic tribute to the premature death of a friend’s daughter.


download unspecifiedFrançois-Xavier Roth on his ideas behind the After Romanticism series