Dvorák Symphony No 7


Please note start time

Sun 17 Jan 2016 7.00pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

TCHAIKOVSKY Overture: The Tempest
ELGAR Cello Concerto
DVORÁK Symphony No 7

Pablo Heras-Casado conductor
Alisa Weilerstein cello
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £10 £16 £22 £29 £40

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

download unspecifiedDownload the concert programme (PDF)

LSO Platform: Guildhall Artists
Barbican Hall 5.30pm, free entry

DVORAK Piano Trio in E minor 'Dumky'

Amarins Wierdsma violin
Yoanna Prodanova cello
Mihai Ritivoiu piano


download audioListen: Dvorák Symphony No 7 on LSO Live

RecClassicfm 110 2013

Following his successful LSO debut in 2014, Pablo Heras-Casado returns to guide 'incandescent' cellist Alisa Weilerstein through her own debut with the Orchestra.

For this occasion Alisa has chosen Elgar’s Cello Concerto – premiered by the LSO in 1919 – a contemplative and elegiac work which laments a lost world after World War I. In contrast Dvorák’s Seventh Symphony is sunny, warm-hearted and lyrical, and full of hope for his Czech homeland. Themes in Tchaikovsky’s Tempest Overture describe sections of the Shakespeare play.