Congratulations to the Music Academy of the West Keston MAX Fellows 2020

Twelve young musicians from this year's Music Academy of the West have been selected at the end of our visit to the Academy in Santa Barbara this month as the Keston MAX Fellows for 2020.

Five LSO section principals, Carmine Lauri (Co-Leader), Tim Hugh (cello), Gareth Davies (flute), Tim Jones (horn) and Neil Percy (percussion) spent ten days at the Academy around the Orchestra's visit in July teaching and performing, and overseeing the selection of twelve Fellows who will travel to London in April 2020 to work with the Orchestra for ten days. They will experience a week in the life of an LSO musician: taking part in rehearsals, performances and mock auditions, receiving lessons and performing chamber music, giving them invaluable insight into the life of an orchestral musician. They will also take part in education projects and learn about the governance of the orchestra, giving them a unique experience of life beyond music-making.

Congratulations to:

Shenae Anderson: violin
Njioma Grevious: violin
Ha eun Song: cello
Jonathan Yeoh: double bass
James Blanchard: flute
Victoria Chung: oboe
Sara Han: clarinet
Bianca Chambul: bassoon
Gabrielle Pho: horn
Alex Mayon: trumpet
Christine Comer: timpani/percussion
Madison Shake: timpani/percussion

> Find out more about the partnership with the Music Academy of the West

Photo: the twelve Fellows taking part in the 2020 London residency. Credit: Phil Channing