Share, Comment, Be Part of It

Share, Comment, Be Part of It

The LSO at the Barbican Centre

The LSO at the Barbican Centre

LSO Principal Conductor Valery Gergiev

LSO Principal Conductor Valery Gergiev

Gergiev explores Brahms & Szymanowski in 2012/13

2012-13 season

We are delighted to be able to bring you our complete 2012/13 season so that you can plan your year of concert-going and make a series booking in one easy transaction. Click on the links below for full details.

> Download a PDF of the concert listings only for easy browsing

> Download a PDF of the full brochure

> View the full brochure as an online flip book

Online booking opens Monday 30 January 2012
> Full details of booking dates and discounts

By date

September 2012

> Sat 22 Sep: Valery Gergiev/Janine Jansen; Brahms & Szymanowski
> Sun 23 Sep: LSO Discovery Day – Karol Szymanowski
> Sun 23 Sep: Valery Gergiev; Brahms & Szymanowski
> Thu 27 Sep: Sir Colin Davis 85th Birthday Concert
> Sun 30 Sep: Donatella Flick LSO Conducting Competition 2012 final

October 2012

> Tue 2 Oct: Elina Garanca (NB not part of 2012/13 multi-buy)
> Thu 4 Oct: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Imogen Cooper
> Thu 4 Oct: Dorothea Röschmann/Ian Bostridge; Mozart & Mahler
> Thu 11 Oct: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – John Mark Ainsley
> Thu 11 Oct: Valery Gergiev/Janine Jansen; Brahms & Szymanowski
> Sat 13 Oct: Valery Gergiev; Brahms & Szymanowski
> Sun 14 Oct: LSO Discovery Family Concert
> Tue 16 Oct: UBS Soundscapes: Eclectica – Susanna Wallumrød
> Thu 18 Oct: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Imogen Cooper
> Thu 18 Oct: Simon Trpceski; Beethoven & Elgar
> Thu 25 Oct: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Roderick Williams

November 2012

> Thu 1 Nov: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Rebecca Evans
> Tue 6 Nov: LSO String Ensemble
> Thu 8 Nov: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Imogen Cooper
> Thu 8 Nov: Music for the Big Screen – The Best of John Williams
> Thu 15 Nov: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Sarah Connolly
> Thu 22 Nov: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Imogen Cooper
> Sun 25 Nov: LSO Discovery Day – Gustav Mahler
> Sun 25 Nov: Semyon Bychkov/Leonidas Kavakos; Golijov & Mahler
> Tue 27 Nov: UBS Soundscapes: Eclectica – Jason Yarde & Andrew McCormack
> Thu 29 Nov: Elisabeth Leonskaja; Beethoven & Walton
> Fri 30 Nov: Leonidas Kavakos Solo Recital

December 2012

> Wed 5 Dec: Queen's Medal for Music Gala Concert
> Sun 9 Dec: Leonidas Kavakos; Sibelius
> Tue 11 Dec: Valery Gergiev; Brahms & Szymanowski
> Wed 12 Dec: Valery Gergiev/Denis Matsuev/Leonidas Kavakos; Brahms & Szymanowski
> Tue 18 Dec: Valery Gergiev; Brahms & Szymanowski
> Wed 19 Dec: Valery Gergiev/Denis Matsuev/Leonidas Kavakos; Brahms & Szymanowski

January 2013

> Sun 6 Jan: National Youth Orchestra
> Sun 13 Jan: Tim Hugh; Elgar & Mozart
> Thu 17 Jan: John Adams/DawnUpshaw; Bartók, Debussy & Adams
> Sun 27 Jan: John Adams/St Lawrence String Quartet; Copland, Carter, Ives & Adams
> Thu 31 Jan: Balkan Fever

February 2013

> Tue 5 Feb: Daniel Harding/Hakan Hardenberger; Mark-Anthony Turnage Residency
> Thu 7 Feb: Daniel Harding/Lars Vogt; Mark-Anthony Turnage Residency
> Tue 12 Feb: Bernard Haitink/Maria João Pires; Britten, Mozart & Beethoven
> Sun 17 Feb: Bernard Haitink/Maria João Pires; Mozart & Bruckner
> Thu 19 Feb: UBS Soundscapes: Eclectica – Mark-Anthony Turnage
> Thu 21 Feb: Bernard Haitink/Maria João Pires; Mozart & Bruckner
> Sun 24 Feb: LSO Discovery Family Concert

March 2013

> Thu 7 Mar: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Vienna Piano Trio Residency
> Thu 14 Mar: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Vienna Piano Trio Residency
> Thu 21 Mar: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Vienna Piano Trio Residency
> Fri 22 Mar: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Vienna Piano Trio Residency
> Sun 24 Mar: LSO Discovery Day – Johannes Brahms
> Sun 24 Mar: Nikolaj Znaider; Schubert & Brahms
> Tue 26 Mar: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – LSO St Luke's 10th Birthday Festival
> Tue 26 Mar: Nikolaj Znaider; Schubert & Brahms
> Wed 27 Mar: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – LSO St Luke's 10th Birthday Festival
> Thu 28 Mar: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – LSO St Luke's 10th Birthday Festival
> Thu 28 Mar: UBS Soundscapes: Eclectica – Dhafer Youssef & LSO Strings
> Fri 29 Mar: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – LSO St Luke's 10th Birthday Festival
> Sat 30 Mar: Valery Gergiev; Brahms & Szymanowski
> Sun 31 Mar: Valery Gergiev; Brahms & Szymanowski

April 2013

> Thu 4 Apr: Nikolaj Znaider/Piotr Anderszewski; Mozart & Mahler
> Tue 9 Apr: UBS Soundscapes: Eclectica – LSO Futures Week: Tansy Davies
> Thu 11 Apr: LSO Futures Week – Panufnik Composers Workshop
> Sat 13 Apr: LSO Futures Week – Part One
> Sat 13 Apr: LSO Futures Week – Part Two
> Tue 16 Apr: Britten The Turn of the Screw
> Thu 18 Apr: Britten The Turn of the Screw
> Sun 21 Apr: Juan Diego Flórez (NB not part of 2012/13 multi-buy)
> Thu 25 Apr: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Britten, Bach & Shostakovich
> Thu 25 Apr: Sir John Eliot Gardiner 70th Birthday Concert

May 2013

> Thu 2 May: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Britten, Bach & Shostakovich
> Sun 5 May: LSO Discovery Family Concert
> Thu 9 May: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Britten, Bach & Shostakovich
> Thu 16 May: BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concert – Britten, Bach & Shostakovich
> Thu 16 May: Sir Antonio Pappano/Christian Tetzlaff; Shostakovich & Tchaikovsky
> Sun 19 May: Sir Antonio Pappano; Lutoslawski & Tchaikovsky
> Wed 22 May: Valery Gergiev 60th Birthday Gala Concert

June 2013

> Sun 9 Jun: LSO Discovery Day – Aaron Copland
> Sun 9 Jun: Michael Tilson Thomas/Yo-Yo Ma; Copland, Shostakovich & Britten
> Tue 11 Jun: Michael Tilson Thomas/Yo-Yo Ma; Copland, Shostakovich & Britten
> Wed 12 Jun: Michael Tilson Thomas/Yo-Yo Ma; Shostakovich & Britten
> Sun 16 Jun: Sir Colin Davis tribute concert
> Tue 18 Jun: Sir Colin Davis tribute concert

Highlights

Valery Gergiev: Brahms & Szymanowski
Valery Gergiev provides an authoritative guide to two contrasting European figures – Brahms and Szymanowski. Brahms’ music, part-Romantic, part-Classical but always stirring and lyrical, has long been a staple of the repertoire, but in recent years late-Romantic Polish composer Karol Szymanowski has been emerging from the shadows, with the sheer opulence and exotic sensuousness of his music winning over an increasingly wide audience. Gergiev explores the four symphonies of both composers, as well as the great German Requiem by Brahms and Szymanowski’s exquisite Violin Concertos and influential Polish take on the Stabat Mater.

22, 23 Sep
11, 13 Oct
11, 12, 18, 19 Dec
30, 31 Mar
22 May: 60th Birthday Gala Concert

UBS Soundscapes: LSO Artist Portrait
Leonidas Kavakos
Leonidas Kavakos was destined to be a violinist. His father and grandfather both played, and Kavakos was the youngest member of the European Union Youth Orchestra at the age of twelve, and won the Sibelius Competition aged 16. He now plays with all the major orchestras, directs his own Athens festival, and recently became Artistic Director of the Camerata Salzburg. But he has also been shaped by his Greek identity. ‘When we do something with devotion and concentration, it is a kind of music’, he says. ‘And this explains something ancient in our heritage. You know what they taught in ancient Greek times? They taught grammar, they taught mathematics, they taught gymnastics, and they taught music! It was at the centre of education, because music touches the whole person.’

25 Nov: Golijov (UK premiere)
30 Nov: Recital
9 Dec: Sibelius 1
2 & 19 Dec: Szymanowski

Sir Colin Davis at 85
In his 85th birthday year Sir Colin Davis planned to focus on composers with whom he was particularly associated. Mozart and Schubert bookended the series, and in between there was a particular focus on English composers – Elgar, Walton and Britten – as well as his beloved Sibelius and Beethoven. He due to be joined by musical luminaries such as Mitsuko Uchida, Radu Lupu, Ian Bostridge, Dorothea Röschmann, Elisabeth Leonskaja, Maxim Vengerov and Nikolaj Znaider, a roll-call of his friends in the music world for over 60 years.

Sir Colin Davis passed away on 14 April 2013. The concerts on 16 & 18 June will be dedicated to his memory.

27 Sep: 85th Birthday Concert
4, 18 Oct
29 Nov
5, 9 Dec
13 Jan
24, 26 Mar
16, 18 Apr
16, 18 Jun

21st Century Voices
The LSO has always worked with musicians that define their generation, and this season the LSO Composer Focus is with Mark-Anthony Turnage. The season includes one UK and four World Premieres by composers such as Osvaldo Golijov and Peter Maxwell Davies. In April, French conductor François-Xavier Roth will curate LSO Futures, a week of contemporary music events at the Barbican and LSO St Luke’s.

UK and World Premieres:
25 Nov: Osvaldo Golijov Violin Concerto
5 Dec: Peter Maxwell Davies Fanfare
7 Feb: Mark-Anthony Turnage New work
13 Apr: Jason Yarde New work & Colin Matthews New work

LSO Futures week:
9, 11, 13 Apr

Britten, Shostakovich and Copland
Three major 20th-century composers who each helped define the national musical profile of their respective countries are brought together by former LSO Principal Conductor Michael Tilson Thomas and superstar cellist Yo-Yo Ma. Benjamin Britten and Dmitri Shostakovich were linked by friendship and mutual respect for one another and for the man who first introduced them, the cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, and it is the great works for cello and orchestra they wrote for this exceptional musical personality that run like a thread through this three-concert series. The music of the composer Aaron Copland is rarer in the concert hall, but speaks no less of its time and place, with a spare-textured and picturesque style suggestive of America’s wide open spaces.

Concerts with Yo-Yo Ma and Michael Tilson Thomas
9, 11, 12 Jun

More Britten, Shostakovich and Copland
27 Jan
12 Feb
16, 18 Apr
6 May

BBC Radio 3 Lunchtime Concerts at LSO St Luke’s
Britten, Bach and Shostakovich
25 Apr; 2, 9, 16 May

LSO St Luke’s
LSO St Luke’s on Old Street is the home of LSO Discovery and has a thriving performance programme of chamber music, masterclasses and workshops designed to complement the LSO’s Barbican season. There are eight Eclectica concerts exploring new partnerships and new music, and 20 lunchtime chamber concerts from BBC Radio 3. 23 March to 1 April 2013 is LSO St Luke’s Tenth Birthday Festival, featuring a week of live broadcasts in the BBC Radio 3 lunchtimes series and concerts by Nikolaj Znaider, Dhafer Youssef, Aurora Orchestra and the LSO Chamber Orchestra.

Imogen Cooper and Friends
4, 18 Oct; 8, 22 Nov

Schumann Cycle
11, 25 Oct; 1, 15 Nov

Vienna Piano Trio
7, 14, 21, 22 Mar

LSO St Luke’s Tenth Birthday Festival
Daily 26–29 Mar

UBS Soundscapes: Eclectica Concerts
16 Oct; 27 Nov; 19 Feb; 28 Mar; 9 Apr


12/13 season listings PDF

12/13 season listings PDF

Download a PDF of the complete season for easy browsing.


 

 
 
Mind Unit - websites, content management and email marketing for the arts